Home Care for Visually Impaired


At Support For Home, our passion is providing home care to folks who need assistance with Activities of Daily Living (ADLs).  Our clients may be disabled or seniors who just need a little help or folks with a chronic illness.  Every one of our clients is important to us, really part of our extended family.  But to me, personally, because of my own situation, there is a special group of clients with low vision or loss of vision that are very special.

My situation is that not only was I (before cataract surgery in both eyes) extremely nearsighted, but I have type II Diabetes.  Between the two situations, my eyesight is and will be a problem for the rest of my life.  About six years ago, I had bleeding in my right eye, due to the fact that my eyes are so long, because of severe myopia.  That required laser surgery several times, on the retina.  This year, the same problem occurred in my left eye.  Treatment has advanced, so I got three shots in my left eye, over several months.  Having a needle stuck in your eye, by the way, is not my idea of fun.  🙂

So, before this begins to sound like a “let’s all feel sorry for Bert” whine, why am I laying all of this out for you?

The reason is that many seniors (and non-seniors) do have issues with their vision that dramatically impact their ability to deal with ADLs.  The cause may be macular degeneration or inoperable cataracts or diabetic retinopathy or a number of other issues.  The bottom line is that their ability to continue to live at home is severely jeopardized.  Our Home Care Aides, as well as those of other excellent agencies, are trained to assist these folks and help them successfully age in place.

Sometimes, though, even more help is needed.  That is when a program such as HomeSight is worth exploring.  For clients with a doctor’s order for home health, the program from HomeSight may be covered by Medicare.  It is definitely worth checking out.

Best wishes, Bert

Leave a Reply

